Deputy Jody Royster
Deputy Rhonda Reiter
The following are guidelines for Sheriff Sales in Ottawa County Ohio. You may contact your personal attorney for legal advice regarding these sales.
Sheriff Sales are conducted at the Ottawa County Courthouse, located at 315 Madison Street, Port Clinton, Ohio on the first floor in Room #100. Sales are held on Fridays at 10:00 a.m. Sheriff Sales are advertised for 3 consecutive weeks in the Friday edition of the Port Clinton News Herald.
The properties cannot be sold for less than 2/3 of the appraised amount, unless otherwise noted in the newspaper advertisement in the Port Clinton News Herald.
Due to House Bill 390, the Ottawa County Sheriff’s Office requires the following as a deposit at the time of the sale. The lienholder (Plaintiff) is not required to make a deposit.
Required deposits for Sheriff Sales:
For properties appraised less than $10,000 a deposit of $2,000 is required.
For properties appraised at $10,000-$200,000 a deposit of $5,000 is required.
For properties appraised greater than $200,000 a deposit of $10,000 is required.
We will accept cash or certified bank check payable to yourself or to the Ottawa County Sheriff’s Office. NO personal checks, business checks or credit cards are accepted. Bidders MUST have payment with them at the time of bidding. Bidders will NOT be permitted to leave and return with payment.
If there is no purchaser for the first Sheriff sale then due to House Bill 390, there will be a second date of sale (which will be advertised in the first publication). At this second sale, there will be no set minimum bid. If sold at second sale, the purchaser shall be responsible for costs, allowances, and taxes that the proceeds for the sale are insufficient to cover.
All sales are conducted by verbal auction with the property being sold to the highest bidder. The final bid is accepted by the Sheriff results in a legally enforceable contract under Ohio Law.
If the property has not been appraised (i.e a tax sale) then the deposit will be 10% of the starting bid. NO deposit will be less than $1,000. This amount will need to be given to the Sheriff Deputy as soon as all of the sales for the day are completed. If you do not have the money to put down at the time of the sale, then you cannot bid on the properties. We will accept cash or certified bank checks for deposit. The remainder of the money will be due in 30-90 days depending on how long the paperwork (confirmation of sale) takes to get filed. If you cannot complete the purchase for any reason, you may be cited for Contempt of Court and could lose your deposit.
The Sheriff’s Office does not have information on liens and taxes. It is the responsibility of the purchaser to check into properties for back taxes, delinquent utility bills, liens, and/or additional costs. You are urged to consult with an attorney if you have questions. The Sheriff’s Office cannot give legal advice. The purchaser shall be responsible for costs, allowances, and taxes that the proceeds of the sale are insufficient to cover.
The Sheriff’s Office has NO keys for the properties being sold.
Potential buyers may NOT enter the property. The property still belongs to the original owner. The bank owns the mortgage on the property, however they do not own the property and that is why it is going through a Sheriff Sale. The bank may bid on the property so they can put the deed into their name and then they can sell the property to recoup their money. Understand your bank may say they need an inside appraisal done. This CAN NOT be done! Please have your financing in order prior to the sale. The appraisal is based on the exterior view of buildings only. Neither the Sheriff’s Office nor any affiliates have access to the inside of the said property. You may only enter the property once the court has confirmed the sale, you have paid for the property IN FULL, you have received the deed and the deed has been recorded and conveyed. Until that time you may NOT enter the property, change locks, have occupants removed, mow the yard, etc. Entering the property WITHOUT permission of the owner or occupant is a violation of ORC 2911.21 and is punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a $250 fine.
After the confirmation has been filed, the final payment has been made and received the deed, you may contact the occupants and advise them they need to vacate the premises. If they still refuse to vacate then the buyer needs to file a Writ of Possession with the Ottawa County Clerk of Courts and in turn the Ottawa County Sheriff’s Office will serve the occupants with an order to vacate. If they still refuse to vacate, the buyer then needs to contact a moving company and a locksmith and the moving company will move out the old occupants at the buyer’s expense. The Sheriff’s Office will only stand by to keep the peace while this occurs.
ATTENTION-THIS PUBLICATION IS PROVIDED AS A COURTESY ONLY. Information contained should not be considered a full legal description or offering or binding in anyway. Full legal descriptions may be found at the Ottawa County Recorder’s Office in the courthouse, located at 315 Madison St., Port Clinton, OH. We are not responsible for errors/omissions; use this publication at your own discretion and risk. The Ottawa County Sheriff’s Office is not responsible for defects or omissions in advertising, condition of property (i.e: mold, mildew, foreign objects, etc.), outstanding debt, liens, mortgages, and unpaid utilities.