Sex Offender Registration

Home/Services/Sex Offender Registration
Sex Offender Registration 2017-04-17T07:43:56+00:00

Ohio Sex Offender Registration

Under Ohio law, the Sheriff of each county is responsible for the registration of sex offenders. Sex offenders must register with the Sheriff on scheduled periodic bases, which is determined by their sex offender Tier classification. Ohio law allows for periodic address verification checks of the address that is provided by a sex offender during his/her registration process. Sex offenders are also required to provide additional information such as places of employment, schools attended, vehicle information, phone contact and internet identifiers.

In addition, sex offenders must register with the County Sheriff any change of residential address, place of employment, or enrollment in a school or institution of higher education. Depending on the classification of the offender, they may also be required to register additional information.

Ohio Revised Code 2950.081: Any statements, information, photographs, fingerprints, or materials that are required to be provided, and that are provided, by an offender or delinquent child pursuant to section 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, or 2950.06 of the Revised Code and that are in the possession of a county sheriff are public records open to public inspection under section 149.43 of the Revised Code and shall be included in the internet sex offender and child-victim offender database established and maintained under section 2950.13 of the Revised Code to the extent provided in that section.

Except when the child is classified a public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant, the sheriff shall not cause to be publicly disseminated by means of the internet any statements, information, photographs, fingerprints, or materials that are provided by a delinquent child who sends a notice of intent to reside, registers, provides notice of a change of residence address and registers the new residence address, or provides verification of a current residence address pursuant to this chapter and that are in the possession of a county sheriff.

Ohio Tier Classifications

Sex offenders must register with the County Sheriff at least once annually for a period of 15 years. In addition, must register any change of residential address, place of employment, or enrollment in a school or institution of higher education.
Sex offenders must register with the County Sheriff every 180 days for a period of 25 years. In addition, must register any change of residential address, place of employment, or enrollment in a school or institution of higher education.
Sex offenders must register with the County Sheriff every 90 days for life. In addition, must register any change of residential address, place of employment, or enrollment in a school or institution of higher education. Note: Tier III sex offenders may also be subject to community notification, which means upon a change of residential address, the County Sheriff will provide notice to a neighborhood within 1000 feet of the sex offenders residential address. The County Sheriff will also provide notice to schools, registered day-care providers, and law enforcement agencies within the county.
Certain offenders were convicted prior to the implementation of the Adam Walsh Act. In those cases, an offender’s registration requirements may be different than a tier-classified offender.

You may schedule your sex offender registration appointment online. You must appear in person for your registration.

Sex Offender Reporting Requirements

If you are an offender who is required to register with the Ottawa County Sheriff’s Office, you must make an appointment prior to arriving for your registration. If you elect not to make an appointment, there may not be anyone available to register you and you run the risk of not meeting your registration deadline. In order to ensure that you comply with your registration requirements. It is preferred that you book your appointment online at http://ottawacountysheriff.simplybook.me/. If you are unable to schedule an appointment online, you may contact Captain James White at (419) 734-6827 to schedule an appointment. As a reminder, you are able to register up to 10 days in advance of your verification date and you must appear in person to complete your registration.

Offender Registration Requirements

If you committed your offense on or after January 1, 2008, you are required to register personally with the sheriff of each county in Ohio or any other state in which you reside or are temporarily domiciled for more than 3 days, within 3 days of coming into that county. You are required to register personally with the sheriff of each county in Ohio or any other state immediately upon coming into a county in which you attend a school or institution of higher learning on either a full- or part -time basis. You are required to register personally with the sheriff of each county in Ohio or any other state in which you are employed, regardless of where you reside, if you have been employed in that county for more than 3 days or for an aggregate period of 14 days or more days in that calendar year.

If you committed your offense prior to January 1, 2008, you are required to register personally with the sheriff of each county in Ohio or any other state in which you reside or are temporarily domiciled for more than 5 days, within 5 days of coming into that county. You are required to register personally with the sheriff of each county in Ohio or any other state immediately upon coming into a county in which you attend a school or institution of higher learning on either a full- or part -time basis. You are required to register personally with the sheriff of each county in Ohio or any other state in which you are employed, regardless of where you reside, if you have been employed in that county for more than 14 days or for an aggregate period of 30 days or more days in that calendar year.

After your date of initial registration, you are required to periodically verify the addresses of your residence, place of employment , and school or institution of higher education by personally appearing before the sheriff of each county in which any of these addresses is registered, at the time interval listed below, in Ohio or any other state. You must appear and complete a verification form no earlier than 10 days before the date by which verification is required, and no later than the date by which verification is required. Frequency of verification is determined by your offender classification(s).

If you committed your offense on or after January 1, 2008, at least 20 days prior to changing your residence address or the address of your school or institution of higher education, and not later than 3 days after changing the address of your place of employment, you are required to: 1) provide written notice of the residence, school, institution of higher education, or place of employment address change, as applicable, to the sheriff with whom you most recently registered the address; and, 2) personally register each new address of residence, school, institution of higher education, or place of employment with the sheriff of the county in which any new address is located, whether in this state or in another state.

If you committed your offense prior to January 1, 2008, at least 20 days prior to changing your residence address or the address of your school or institution of higher education, and not later than 5 days after changing the address of your place of employment, you are required to: 1) provide written notice of the residence, school, institution of higher education, or place of employment address change, as applicable, to the sheriff with whom you most recently registered the address; and, 2) personally register each new address of residence, school, institution of higher education, or place of employment with the sheriff of the county in which any new address is located, whether in this state or in another state.

If a residence address change is not to a fixed address, you shall include a detailed description of the place or places you intend to stay and no later than the end of the first business day following the day you obtain a fixed address, you shall provide written notice to the sheriff of that fixed address.

If you committed your offense on or after January 1, 2008, you shall provide written notice in person, within 3 days, of any change in vehicle information, email addresses, internet identifiers or telephone numbers registered to or used by you, to the sheriff with whom you have the most recently registered.

After your date of initial registration, you are required to periodically verify the addresses of your residence by personally appearing before the sheriff of each county in which any of these addresses is registered, at the time interval listed below, in Ohio or any other state. You must appear and complete a verification form no earlier than 10 days before the date by which verification is required, and no later than the date by which verification is required. Frequency of verification is determined by your offender classification(s).

If you committed your offense prior to January 1, 2008, you are required to register personally with the sheriff of each county in Ohio or any other state in which you reside or are temporarily domiciled for more than 5 days, within 5 days of coming into that county.

If you committed your offense on or after January 1, 2008, you are required to register personally with the sheriff of each county in Ohio or any other state in which you reside or are temporarily domiciled for more than 3 days, within 3 days of coming into that county.

At least 20 days prior to changing your residence address, you are required to: 1) provide written notice of the residence address change to the sheriff with whom you most recently registered the address; and, 2) personally register each new address of residence with the sheriff of the county in which any new address is located, whether in this state or in another state.

If a residence address change is not to a fixed address, you shall include a detailed description of the place or places you intend to stay and no later than the end of the first business day following the day you obtain a fixed address, you shall provide written notice to the sheriff of that fixed address.

Check Map Now
You may use the Offender Watch “Check Address” feature to determine the distance between two addresses. Please be aware that the 1000 foot proximity rule does not apply to all registered sex offenders.
Check Map Now